Skip to content
What are you searching for?
Advanced search
Free to contact
  • peter
  • 60, professional male
  • Double room wanted

Total budget: £1,500 pcm

Description

Hi, i’m Pete and i’m looking for a large double room (ideally en-suite but not essential) west or south west (M4 access needed) within zones 1-3 within 20 mins of central london by tube or train.

I work as a personal tutor for 16-18 yr olds in Biology and Chemistry and also to the younger pupils preparing them for common entrance at either 11 or 13 yrs. There is far more demand than i can fill which is good and i earn c.£4k pcm. Most of this work is either at the pupils home or at a tutorial college in Central London.

Whilst chronologically my passport shows me as 60 yrs, i still feel 25😊

I mention this as i see a lot of room sharing ads have an age cut off at 40 or 50 and, whilst i fully appreciate that a house with an existing age profile that is younger than myself may well wish to keep that profile, i’m suggesting that attitude and outlook are equally important. Two of my close friends are 29 and 85……I think we all know 40 yr olds going on 60 and maybe 60 yr olds going on 40 or even 30! A mix of ages can be a plus😊

I have always kept in good physical shape and still go to the gym most days to work out and row or swim. I cycle most places on my trusty 15 yr old canondale road bike as in London it’s sooo much quicker than driving.

I was a science teacher for 18 yrs and still have a lively academic interest in the Biological Sciences. I also enjoy keeping abreast of current affairs and have an online subscription to a daily newspaper.

My interests are fairly broad including music (everything from classical through rock to good old Leonard Cohen!), cinema (a cult member of Curzon cinemas) and attending concerts (assuming covid and its variants will allow…).

I was a CAMRA member for many years and still enjoy the occasional pint of real ale in a well run freehouse.

In a former life i owned 2 hotels and (long story) ended up doing a 2 yr professional chefs course which has led to a love of cooking, with the influence of Keith Floyd showing through my use of red wine😅
I also ran a fish and chip van for a year which was great fun…

I lived in the Scottish Highlands for 10 yrs and fell in love with the mountains so still head back a few times a year to head off into the hils with my tent. My friend and i completed the 3 peaks challenge in under 24 hrs last year.

As you can see, i have a broad range of interests, and whilst valuing my privacy, am very good natured and sociable in company.

My personal circumstances are such that after 22 yrs married, i separated last January. My 4 children live in Cheltenham with my former wife. I head back every 2 seeks or so to see my children.

I rented a flat in Cheltenham for 8 mths before moving to London in late September (I lived in London in my 20’s).
I have been in serviced accommodation since returning as i was unsure about whether to make the move permanant. I have now decided to make London my base hence the search for the room.

I am sociable in company with, i think, a good sense of humour and a friendly nature

My time has a chef has made me slightly ocd about kitchen cleanliness and hygiene, so you can be reassured that i won’t be leaving my dirty dishes for others to clean!

Very flexible both on viewing times and move in date so would be keen to hear from you if you have a (preferably spacious) double room with en-suite.

If you’ve got this far, thanks for taking the time to read🙏

Availability
Available
Now
Minimum term
6 months
Maximum term
None
Looking in
  • Acton, Chiswick & Hammersmith
  • Barnes & Putney
  • Camden & Holloway
  • Chelsea & Fulham
  • Clapham, Battersea & Wandsworth
  • Highbury & Islington
  • Kensington & Notting Hill
  • Paddington & St. Johns Wood
  • Zone 1
  • Zone 2 - North of the River
  • Zone 2 - South of the River
Amenities required
About me
Age
60
Smoker?
No
Any pets?
No
Occupation
Professional
Interests
cooking, reading, films, running, walking, cycling, cinema, fitness, exercise, science, museums, restaurants, healthy eating
Gender
Male
New household preferences
Smokers OK?
No
Pets OK?
No
Occupation
Don't mind
Min age
18
Max age
65
Gender
Males or females

The advertiser is not currently accepting applications

User profile icon
Unknown
Joined SpareRoom because:

Register for FREE

Register via email

Register for FREE