Skip to content
What are you searching for?
Advanced search

Description

WE'RE LOOKING FOR A HOUSEMATE -

Room available from 1st November
Communal living house-share in Nether edge, Sheffield.
Rent is £325 per month , which includes all bills.
The room comes part-furnished (a double bed, chest of drawers and there’s lots of in built storage - see photos)

It is a lovely old house with a lot of character, situated by the bottom of brincliffe edge woods in nether edge. It is my (mikey’s) family home which I've been renovating for the last few years, there's still improvements to be made but it's in a good state.

There's a lovely garden and a plot in one of the allotments which back on to the garden. Lots of space to grow stuff and for other cool projects. As it’s a big space it needs to be cared for as a team so it’s almost essential you have some interest in growing and a bit of time to commit to the garden. Some goals for the coming year are to grow as much food as possible and to encourage more wildlife into the garden.


The living here is pretty communal, what this looks like is:
- cooking for everyone once a week ( the household is vegetarian and communal meals are vegan.)
- Shared responsibilities of cleaning and maintaining the house (there's a weekly cleaning rota)
- Shared responsibility of the garden and allotment
- House meeting once a month - (to check in with each other, discuss any communal projects, activities and any issues)
- Work session once a month - (doing DIY or garden work together)
- we split the cost of most food and cleaning products
- open communication and being considerate and supportive of each other.
- having a great time together and being absolute legends

The communal spaces consist of a kitchen, a cellar, a dining room with a big table , (this is also a multi-functional room which gets used for stuff like working and dancing) , a lounge with a wood burner and loads of instruments, a small 'box' spare room, a bathroom with a bath, and a separate toilet room. The bedroom available is in the attic its a big space, warm, with lots of storage. As it is an attic room with part of the ceiling sloping it would be most naturally suited to someone who isn’t really tall.

When the house is full we are 4 people, however at the moment we are 2:
Mikey - I am 29 and work as a garden landscaper, when not doing this I love making music, running about and being very silly and very deep (though not often all at the same time).
Al- I am a musician and chef, I like long impenetrable foreign films and having a laugh.
We have recently applied to host someone through the charity ‘refugees at home’ they will be the other housemate.

It’s very open to everyone. any race, background, orientation. Ideally someone who identifies as a woman or non-binary (to keep the genders balanced in the house) however this isn’t essential for the right person.

If you think this would be a good fit for you and vice versa then send me (Mikey) a message. please include a little bit about yourself and why you'd like to live here.
I'm going to leave it a week or two for people to get in touch. So I may be a bit slow replying. I am aiming to do house viewings in the last 2 weeks of october.

All the best ,

Mikey and Al x

Ps I'm not the best photographer but hopefully the photos give you an idea of the place.
+ Exclusive virtual reality tour of the room in question.

--long read--

-We like to have shared time and activities and chat a lot with each other but this is never an obligation so people can and do take their space / be independent whenever they need to.
-It's a social house and we have friends round for tea and other fun often but it’s important that it is a calm and restful space so for this reason it's not a place to party.
-It's a musical house with lots of instruments and we like to jam together sometimes

One downside worth mentioning is that the house is a bit cold in those winter day times, there are plans to make it warmer over the next year by insulating it more and doing repairs and secondary glazing on windows. The bedroom available is nice and warm as the attic has been very well insulated. And there's a wood burner in the living room so there is a nice cosy space for the evenings.

Part of our vision for the house is to be working towards more sustainable living. A few projects we’re thinking about in this area are building a compost toilet and saving rainwater and grey water.

In the house we have an interest in social justice, community, sustainability, activism and trying to make the world a better and fairer place in whatever small way that may be.
It’s really good to share these values and encourage each other with these but always with kindness and not with judgement/righteousness.
This has all sounded very serious so far, really what we mostly do is watch the simpsons and make terrible jokes with each other :-P

As the house improvements and rennovations are ongoing there's lots to help out with should you be willing and able, some examples of projects at the moment are making repairs to internal doors and fitting secondary glazing. There's also space to come up with your own contribution.. for example in the past one housemate built a herb spiral in the garden, and one did a beautiful painting.
  • £325 pcm (double)
Availability
Available
Now
Minimum term
None
Maximum term
None
Extra cost
Deposit
£0.00
Bills included?
Yes
Amenities
Furnishings
Furnished
Parking
No
Garage
No
Garden/terrace
Yes
Balcony/Patio
No
Disabled access
No
Living room
shared
Broadband included
Yes
Current household
# housemates
3
Total # rooms
4
Ages
28 to 32
Smoker?
No
Any pets?
No
Language
English
Nationality
British
Occupation
Mixed
Interests
music, gardening, outdoors
Gender
2 Males, 1 Female
New housemate preferences
Couples OK?
Yes
Smoking OK?
Yes
Pets OK?
No
Occupation
Don't mind
References?
No
Min age
18
Max age
99
Gender
Female preferred
Vegetarian
Yes

The advertiser is not currently accepting applications

User profile icon
Unknown
Joined SpareRoom because:

Register for FREE

Register via email Remind me later

Register for FREE

Register via email